The WIAA Swimming and Diving Sectional Meets were held Saturday across the state. Locally, the Black River Falls/Alma Center Lincoln/Blair-Taylor Coop team participated in the Division 2 Merrill Sectional. The 200 Medley Relay team of Greta Bakken, Ariana Cernohous, Lily Miller, and Hannah Tubbs placed 7th with a time of 2:03. The 200 Freestyle Relay team of Lucy Miller, Lily Miller, Liv Hanson, and Hannah Tubbs came in at 1:52 placing 11th. With a time of 4:20, the 400 Freestyle Relay with Lucy Miller, Greta Bakken, Liv Hanson, and Lyndsi Laufenberg placed 8th. In individual events, members of the relay teams, along with Lizzie Stevens, Karolann Mann, J’Amy Mercer, and Annika Cernohous placed in the 200, 50, 100, and 500, freestyle events, the 100 butterfly, and 100 backstroke. As a team, Black River Falls/Alma Center Lincoln/Blair-Taylor placed 9th in the Merrill Sectional.

The Wisconsin Rapids Sectional in Division 1 Swimming and Diving included La Crosse Logan/La Crosse Central/West Salem Coop and the Holmen/Aquinas/ Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau/Onalaska Coop teams. The Logan/Central/West Salem team placed 2nd in the 200 Medley Relay, 9th in the Freestyle Relay, and 3rd in the 400 Freestyle. Swimmers…including those who placed individually…included Alicia Zarecki, Camille Johnson, Shefali Ramakrishnan, Avery Farmer, Alyce Wilker, Maggie Herath, Johanna Hall, Lauren Zarecki, Annika Vianden, Bree Scholl, Finley Thompson, Lydia Kromke, and Eve Twite.

The Holmen/Aquinas/Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau/Onalaska relay teams placed 7th in the 200 Medley, 11th in the 200 Freestyle, and 6th in the 400 Freestyle. Swimmers…also those placing individually…included Bethany Hale, Lily Churchill, Natalie Peterson, Lydia Foster, Josephine Rupple, Natalie Markos, Claire Churchill, Birgitta Finn, and Isabella Gerlach.

Overall, Logan/Central/West Salem placed 5th. Holmen/Aquinas, Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau/Onalaska took 8th.

Now…the WIAA State Swimming and Diving Meeting will be held this Friday and Saturday at Waukesha South Natatorium. Division 2 Championships will be Friday, Division 1 Saturday.

Black River Falls/Alma Center Lincoln/Blair-Taylor sophomore, Hannah Tubbs, whose broken a number of school records over the past couple of years, earned a trip to the Division 2 State Championships in both the 50 and 100 Freestyle Events with times of 25:06 and 55:56 respectively.

La Crosse Logan/La Crosse Central/West Salem will send their 200 Medley team of Alicia Zarecki, Camille Johnson, Shefali Ramakrishnan, and Avery Farmer and the 400 Freestyle Team of Camille Johnson, Lauren Zarecki, Avery Farmer, and Shefali Ramakrishnan to the Division 1 Championships… along with Shefali Ramakrishnan in the 100 Butterfly, and Camille Johnson in the 100 Freestyle.

No responses yet

Leave a Reply