4 to be honored as Local Broadcast Legends

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Foundation is proud to announce the 2023 Local Broadcast Legends honorees:

· Dan Breeden‘s name is synonymous with weather in the La Crosse area because of his dedication to meteorology and the many connections he’s made in the community.

· Doug Erdman is a Shawano County institution with a reputation for hard work, professionalism, and community service.

· Gene Mueller is known in Milwaukee radio for his humor, quick wit, deep knowledge of news, politics, sports, pop culture, and for having a legendary work ethic.

· John Murphy has been on the radio in the Eau Claire area since 1982, embedded in the community and making a difference in local charitable efforts.

The Eau Claire area has known John Murphy (Murph) since 1982, from his broadcast career on WAXX 104.5, WAYY and Greatest Hits 98.1 (WISM-FM).

John has served in numerous on-air roles including morning show host, co-host, traffic reporter, news reporter, movie critic, and talk show host. 

John has been recognized during his career as a CMA and Marconi Award Personality of the Year.

Beyond the studio, John is deeply embedded in the community. He is a frequent emcee at local events. He has served as president of the Chippewa Valley Theatre Guild Board, a United Way Marketing Committee Chairman, Voice of the Future Committee member for Boys and Girls Club of the Chippewa Valley, and Literacy Chippewa Valley tutor.

John spearheads the annual Festival of Toys toy drive and Back to Schools Bucks and Books school supply drive. Under John’s direction over 15 years, the two drives combined have helped to raised more than $ 350,000 in books, school supplies, and toys for those in need in the greater Eau Claire-Chippewa Falls area. 

He’s described as versatile, a tireless promoter, funny and fun to work with.

John said he is forever grateful for the ability and opportunity to do what he loves to do as a broadcaster, and is particularly grateful to his wife, Juli Murphy, for letting “Murph be Murph.”

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Local Broadcast Legends Award was established in 2015 under the direction of Bruce Grassman, owner/president of Results Radio. The Local Broadcast Legends Award is a great honor and recognition for individuals that work behind the scenes and within their communities fulfilling the commitment broadcasters have made to serve their local communities. They are individuals who exemplify localism. This award is a means to extend recognition of these individuals beyond their local communities.

Individuals with 15 years or more service in Wisconsin broadcasting may be nominated by their company, co-workers, community leaders, family members, and friends. The station or organization which the nominee is associated with submits the nomination on behalf of the nominating individual(s).

No responses yet

Leave a Reply